Bye Bye

It is officially my last night on U.S. soil for what hopefully will be a full 16 months.  I am not totally packed yet, but have the majority of the things I foresee needing packed, it’s just that I never feel ready until I’m gone.

I was thinking about leaving the States and friends & family and one song kept popping into my head, until I was singing

“bye-bye, miss american pie.”
Drove my chevy to the levee,
But the levee was dry.
Them good old boys were drinkin’ whiskey and rye
And singin’, “this’ll be the day that I die.
“this’ll be the day that I die.”

16 months really isn’t that long of a time, but a lot can happen, and a lot will happen.

“Did you write the book of love,
And do you have faith in God above,
If the Bible tells you so?
Do you believe in rock ’n roll,
Can music save your mortal soul,
And can you teach me how to dance real slow? ”

The States will have changed by the time I get back, or I will have changed greatly, with my fellows, by the people that we encounter as witnesses.

“Oh, and there we were all in one place,
A generation lost in space
With no time left to start again.
So come on: jack be nimble, jack be quick!
Jack flash sat on a candlestick
Cause fire is the devil’s only friend.”

All I have to do is remember to bring my toothbrush so my smile is as fresh as I look!

“I met a girl who sang the blues
And I asked her for some happy news,
But she just smiled and turned away.
I went down to the sacred store
Where I’d heard the music years before,
But the man there said the music wouldn’t play.”

Here’s a link to a youtube version of American Pie, in case you want to share the music with me.

Leave a Reply

