Here I am, on the road again…

so go the opening lines to the chorus of an old Bob Seger song.

If you had asked me 8 months ago how experienced a traveler I felt I was, my answer would have been very experienced. Not a ‘pro’ traveler by any means but very experienced none the less.

I think I may have been a little too confident back then. Maybe a little to naive.

Here I am, on the road again.

I’ve done so much traveling in the past 6 months its ridiculous. The traveling isn’t easy like jumping on a plane or traveling nice smooth state or highway roads (something I vow to never take for granted again). No the travel is hard and it takes a long time to get where you’re going because of the terrain and the road condition. It’s exhausting.

I think this has helped me come to the revelation that, I don’t mind in the slightest staying put for two weeks at a time. Two weeks in a row in the same place would be a nice change.

As it is, I’m headed up north tomorrow to video document the ongoing relief efforts there, my other objective/task is to expose with the victims of the flooding, to live and experience how tragedy has overtaken their lives and how they struggle to make ends meet, both financially and psychologically as they weather the aftermaths of tropical storm Sendong and the landslides.

Until next week,

there I go….turn the page.

Leave a Reply

