Just Everyday

I forgot how nice it feels to actually have food around.  I haven’t had any real space to keep any food for the last 6 months or so until yesterday.  It is awesome.  

It is truly hard to cook dinner when there isn’t anywhere to keep food without it getting ravaged by ants, rats and cats.  Or your neighbors.  To celebrate, for lunch I made Kielbasa with noodles, something my dad normally makes at home.  It was excellent. 

I’m still waiting for my air conditioner to show up.  I’m hoping to get it by the latest wednesday. Once I get it, i’m not sure how I’m going to install it, however I’ll just cross that bridge when I see it. The sun is so hot and strong It’ll be a welcome relief to cool down my room in the evenings….I may just give up on it during the heat of the day.

 

I finally got my newsletter out.  I hope people enjoy it more than I enjoyed Microsoft while writing it.  All in all it wasn’t a truly negative experience, just one that had a lot of breaks and crashes.  Things are pretty mellow around here at work today.  There is some re-organization going on with on of the offices but I haven’t been privy to those details.  I think perhaps tomorrow we’ll have a staff meeting and I’ll know where my desk is. (please tell me i get a desk? near the freezer?) 

 

I’ve been going out a lot more at night, in large part due to me finally, after 10 months of living here, procuring a key to the main door.  This means that I don’t have to rely on someone’s good graces to let me in or leave the door unlocked for when I come home.  It’s so nice.  I feel like I just got my license, or the filipino equivalent thereof.

 

This past tuesday was Filipino Independence day.  It was unclear whether I got the day off or not.  I decided to play it safe and stay at work, but with little work to do, it was as if I had the day off, I just spent it at the office.  

 

2 thoughts on “Just Everyday

  1. Liz Lake

    Hi Adam,

    It sounds like you have settled in quite well to your new life. I think it is also safe to assume that you have become quite appreciative of the simple things in life. It’s amazing how experiences like the one you are living can give you such a different perspective.

    You seem to be enjoying your assignment over there and seem to be getting a lot out of it. I’m glad. I’m sure you are contributing a great deal as well. So, what exactly are you doing in the way of your job? What does a typical day look like for you?

    I will look forward to reading your next “Shawmish” chapter.
    God bless you,
    Liz

  2. ah thanks so much Liz,

    I’ll make sure to let you know what ‘exactly’ i’m doing 🙂 even though it varies quite a bit from day to day.

    I image Wooster is very pretty this time of year. I do miss Ohio,

Leave a Reply

