‘As quiet as a mouse’

Which honestly isn’t very quiet.

I just returned from spending two weeks in Ukraine visiting my mission intern friends and colleagues based there in the city of Lviv.  I have always wanted to go to Krakow after having my mother read The Trumpeter of Krakow aloud to me as a child, but spending two weeks in the city known as little Krakow came close to fulfilling my desire.  I had a wonderful time enjoying the sites and walking around town with Nick, but my favorite times were meals and daily stops at the coffee-shops.  I don’t think Nick goes to those every day but he obliged my brewed coffee cravings after 12 months of instant.

Classes at Ivan Franko University in Lviv started up my second week there, so I got to tag along with Nick, Katie and Erica as they started up their student ministry.  All in all, it was a ton of fun, meeting americans, ukrainians, and enjoying the brand new Tex-Mex BBQ and its friendly owner’s style of american hospitality.

My return trip started last sunday evening, when I took a 12 hour night train from Lviv to Kiev, and continued until I landed in Davao wednesday afternoon.  A whopping 60hrs of travel to go on my international travel experiences, but it went smoothly and without too many hassles.

I don’t know if I have readjusted to the Philippine timezone (I think I have) but if you can tell by they timestamp on this blog, you may ask what i’m doing writing a blog at 4am in the morning.

A Mouse.  A mouse took up residence in my room while I was away, and the idiom ‘as quiet as a mouse’ well they just aren’t quiet enough.  I cannot sleep with the sound of the mouse scrabbling around my small 8ft by 10ft room.  It makes me nervous.  Maybe chalk it up to the fact that we didn’t have mice as far as I can remember growing up.  Here we have lizards, mice, rats and useless cats.  I don’t mind any of them…As long as they stay. out. of. my. room.

So I can’t sleep for the second night in a row.  It’s that feeling where I just wish my dad were here because I know he would know what to do.  To make things worse, I’m going on a 5 day trip tuesday, so to make sure no more mice come calling, I’m cleaning my room.  Right now, as soon as I finish this blog.  Tomorrow I’m stopping by the hardware store to find some nice tasty (death) treats for my new enemy.  Until then though,

Happy sleepless nights

Leave a Reply

