One, two, three, four, five…

Five months of waiting and I finally have a departure date!

Finished with all my medical work, counseling and therapy I am now ready to depart for the Philippines.  It is strange – I went through being very eager to resolvedly patient to grudging acceptance of delays and finally to acceptance that I might be grounded for some time.  And finally I am all cleared to go!

I’ll be moving to the Philippines on Jan. 25th 2017.  Now that my departure date is imminent, I find myself really enjoying the cold mornings.  It might be silly but I used to dream about the cold when ensconced in the heat of the Philippine days and nights.  So, walking outside for an hour and appreciating nature and weather I won’t have for the next 2.5 years is something I relish.

Also on my mind is mobilizing myself to go. I used this word with a good friend to describe what my preparations entailed because I raring to go for so long – and then decided to be unready while I waited for my medical.  Now I need to find my boxes, sort through clothes and fit the foundations of my life into 2 suitcases.  I can technically bring 2 suitcases, a carry-on and a personal item but in this case my carry on will  be my ukulele.

I watched the documentary ‘Minimalists’ on Netflix which has me thinking about what I am bringing and how much I am bringing.  I know I won’t need things that are readily available for purchase in the Philippines.  I did buy a bunch of summer weather clothes in anticipation – and then was scrambling the past few months to find clothes to wear during the winter freeze.

Now that I’m finally going – it’s like a dream come true.  Yet, I know I will miss the convenience of living in the US.  I’ll miss family and friends. Still, I am glad to finally have a purpose and something to work for again.

So here’s to a new adventure.  One that took sometime to get here, but is finally happening. Ready or not Here I come!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

