March is here!

March is already here.  I’ve been here just over a month.  This past weekend I had an opportunity to reflect, interestingly enough it was initiated by going to church.

Tri-lingual church is a special place to be.  I don’t fully understand what all is said, likewise it is hard to keep up with a sermon that transitions from Tagalog to English to Bisaya and back again.  In general my understanding of the sermon comes in waves:  I concentrate trying to distinguish the fast flowing Tagalog from Bisaya before just spacing out wrapped in my own thoughts.  Then I hear English, and I perk up and sit straighter, listening carefully and often, Bisaya comes right after the English so I can follow along then…and sooner or later back to Tagalog we descend, and I am lost again, lost also in my own thoughts and reflecting on the part of the sermon I understood.  The application of that sermon in my own life.

Church then has become a place of reflection and guided instropection although I am missing large chunks of the message, I have to make do for now with what I am given to understand.

I have now almost fully settled here:  I have a place to live, I have a bed. I have a place to sit, a kitchen.  My budget was approved (YAY.)  I already have a church home.  Today I am having another meeting with InPeace to get a clearer understanding of my portfolio.  Tomorrow I am going to finally drop off my Missionary 9G visa which, if all goes well, will get me a 3 year visa to work and live in the Philippines.

March is a busy month around here.  Schools finish this month, beginning summer vacation.  We have a big conference next week that many people are busy preparing for = I am throwing in wherever I can.  It is also the 80th celebration of “Araw Ng Davao” translated to Day of Davao which is a weekend celebration of Davao City.

I find myself getting weird deja vu feelings as I walk around town.  I get confused sometimes what year it is as many places have many memories for me.  All in all this time adjusting has been different, and in many ways will continue to be different.  I am glad that so far is hasn’t included debilitating sickness or overwhelming sadness.

Yes I still miss places and people from previous lives elsewhere.  Yet overall, I am feeling extremely lucky to be back here.  Here’s to March, and the beginning of something new.

Leave a Reply

